Our subscription databases are
listed below. These provide access to a huge range of online
resources, including thousands of journal and newspaper articles in full
text, greatly extending our collections.
Most are available online to use from home - use your library card number
for login ID.
To use in the library
(no charge) please ask at the Reference Desk upstairs in Hastings Library or at the
Issue Desks at Havelock North & Flaxmere Libraries. Usual printing
charges apply.
Database Name
Description
Notes
Below are some multi-search tools that
allow you to search more that one database at the same time. Note: While a multi-search can save
time, if you do not find what you are looking for, try a single search on
the most appropriate database, as they each have features not covered with
multi-searching.
findNZarticles Multi-search
findNZarticles - a tool for finding information about
New Zealand, providing access to a range of New Zealand newspapers and
journals.
Access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical
and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000
databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States;
military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records;
directories; passenger lists and more. Also includes UK records. More >>
Enter
here >>
Use at Research PCs in the libraries only
Australia/NZ Reference Centre
EBSCO
Database - Epic terms
The Australia/NZ Reference Centre combines
Australasian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create
the largest collection of regional full text content available to libraries
in Oceania. This database includes leading Australia/NZ periodicals and
international periodicals in full text; full text reference books; 85,639
full text biographies and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps and
flags.
Access to thousands of full text magazines and news
including: Dominion Post, NZ Herald,
Metro (NZ) North & South, NZ Business, NZ Management, NZ Marketing
Magazine, Time South Pacific and more.More >>
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
Gale Database - Epic terms
Biographies, full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
There are now almost two thousand biographies of New Zealanders in Biography Resource
Centre. More >>
Enter here
>>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
Books & Authors offers new ways to
explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres
and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of
read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors
helps bring readers and literature together.
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
Breakout
Search Breakout for New Zealand awards, scholarships and
grants (for individuals).
Enter
here >>
Use at Research PCs in the libraries only
Britannica Online
Library Edition
Epic terms
The Online Library Edition allows you to search all Britannica content or
limit your search to a particular level:
Encyclopaedia Britannica - for adults or
senior students Britannica Student
- for secondary students
Britannica Junior - for primary students
More >>
EBSCO Database
Want to find a poem but can only remember the
first line?
This
database currently has nearly 70,000 poems in full text and more than
500,000 poem citations.
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
Click on
Ebsco Host Web to see the World of Poetry link
Gale Database - Epic terms
A comprehensive database for in-depth reference
content for literature, history, biographies, science and social studies.
More >>
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
EBSCO Database -
Epic terms
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and
general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, serves
as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our
planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected
titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home
General
OneFile
Gale Database - Epic terms
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of
topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
Updated daily. More >>
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
Health and
Wellness Resource Center
and
Alternative Health Module
Gale Database - Epic terms
Find up-to-date articles in magazines, journals, newspapers,
definitions, directories and information on health and health issues. More >>
Material contained in this Resource Centre is intended for informational
purposes only.
Enter here
>>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
History
Resource Center : World
Gale Database - Epic terms
From the ancient world to
the 20th century. 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more
than 110 journals including full text articles.
Includes images,
maps and charts. More >>
Enter
here>>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
National Library of NZ
Database
Looking
for an article in a New Zealand newspaper or magazine? Use INNZ to
search for articles on your chosen subject
and find which NZ libraries
hold them.
If not held locally articles these may be
requested on interloan - ask at the desk or email
Ask a
Librarian.
Gale Database - Epic terms
Designed specifically for public libraries and
covers virtually every subject area of general interest. Access to thousands
of full text general magazines dating as far back as 1975. Updated daily.
More >>
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
National Library of NZ
The New Zealand Libraries Catalogue
contains over 9 million records for books and other publications (both NZ &
international), held in libraries around the country.
If not held locally items these may be requested on interloan - ask at the
desk or email
Ask a
Librarian.
Knowledge Basket Database
A searchable archive of full text articles in
many of New Zealand's key publications - business, marketing, primary
production and medicine, newspapers including up to date INL material and
The Herald and The Herald classifieds.
Enter here >>
Use at Research PCs in the libraries only
NoveList
EBSCO Database - Fiction
Search by title, author, series, keywords, subject headings and much more
for over 135,000 fiction titles. Includes other content of interest to
fiction readers, such as Book Discussion Guides, Book Talks, and Annotated
Book Lists.
Want to find books similar to your
favourites? A favourite author or title search is available to locate other
authors and titles of interest. Has lots of added content, eg reviews,
author biographies, for Readers' Advisory Services and Reading Guidance
Curricula.
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
Gale Database - Epic terms
For researching all sides of a controversial issue. Search by topic or
keyword. Very useful for debates, assignments, general interest.
More >>
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
Wonderful resource for anyone interested in art or studying art
history.
Oxford Art Online provides online access to the
information on the lives of artists, artisans,
designers, photographers, with links to
images of their works in galleries around the world.
Explore art and art forms,
styles, cultures and time periods.
Life and works of artists with images and line drawings plus over 40,000 image links
from high-quality museum and other art sites.
More >>
The biggest dictionary in the world and a crossword
solvers' dream. The Oxford English
Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English
language over the last millennium. Traces the evolution of more than 600,000
words.
Oxford Music Online is a new
gateway into music research. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online,
Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of
functional enhancements and new content.
Oxford
Music Online also features Colin Larkin's landmark
Encyclopedia of Popular Music — online for the first time by popular
demand. The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular
music, the Encyclopedia is the authoritative biographical
encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from
1900 to the present. It is exhaustive, meticulous, authoritative — and
incredibly fun to read.
Papers Past showcases selected New Zealand
19th and early 20th century newspapers & periodicals. Includes HB
newspapers: Bush Advocate, Hawke's Bay Herald, Hawke's Bay Weekly Times.
Proquest Database - Epic terms
Provides easy access to the
latest news, research and developments in over 100 different scientific fields,
in full text.
Coverage 1994 -
present. More >>
Enter here >>
Use in libraries or online from home - HDL membership card needed for
login patron ID
See New Zealand Libraries' Catalogue
above.
See National Bibliographic Database above.
See Index NZ above.
See Papers Past above.
See links to other National Library database, catalogues and services
here.
By following the links above you agree that:
These databases are protected by copyright. They are provided by
Hastings District Libraries for use by individuals who are registered
Hastings District Libraries staff and patrons for the purposes of personal
use or for research in a corporate, business, academic or government
setting. By accessing these databases you agree to these terms and
conditions of usage.
Your continued access to and usage of these databases indicates your
agreement to abide by these terms and conditions.