Online Databases

Read thousands of articles in journals and newspaper, and explore many other resources online. Hastings District Libraries subscribe to a wide range of databases, greatly extending our collections.

Most are available to use from home. To log in, use your library card number, also your library PIN number in some cases.

Some of these databases will also be searchable through our library catalogue. These have the topic Kōtui Database.

To use in the libraries (no charge) please ask at the upstairs desk in Hastings Library or at the desks at Havelock North & Flaxmere Libraries. Usual printing charges apply.

Academic OneFile

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Access at your fingertips to thousands of full text news and research articles from peer-reviewed journals, also international newspapers.

With extensive coverage of all subjects, Academic OneFile is updated daily.  

Access to journal articles & reference

Below are links to great news, journals & information websites which you can use free of charge, either:

  • Inside our libraries - you can use all these resources in our libraries free of charge
  • Beyond our library buildings - you can use some of these resources at home. 
    In some cases you will need to sign in with your library card and PIN.

Subjects

Ancestry Library Edition

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

Ancestry Library Edition is a tool created for libraries for genealogy and history researchers.  

It provides instant access to a wide range of resources, including many New Zealand records.

Available in our libraries only (no charge).

Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

This database gives access to thousands of full text articles and includes leading international, Australian & New Zealand magazines & newspapers, reference books, biographies and much more.

Available in our libraries (no charge) and from home.

Biography in Context

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Biographies (including New Zealanders), full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.

Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as name, birth or death year, nationality, occupation.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Books and Authors

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Book lovers can enjoy and explore:

  • Books
  • Authors
  • Genres
  • Topics
  • Readalikes
  • Award winners
  • Librarian's favorites lists

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Breakout

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

Search Breakout for scholarships, awards and grants relevant to:

  • New Zealand students
  • Researchers
  • Sports people
  • Artists
  • Also for professional development

Available in our libraries only (no charge).

Britannica Library Edition

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

All the information from the multi-volume Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes audio and video clips, links to recommended websites. Find trusted information for your homework questions.

Search at three levels: Junior, Student and Full encyclopedia.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

 

Brookers BriefCase & ViewCase Databases

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

Brookers BriefCase

A comprehensive index of New Zealand case law, sourced from a variety of New Zealand Courts and Tribunals and updated daily. See Case Sources...

ViewCase

Gives access to full text PDFs of selected judgements from the Privy Council, New Zealand Supreme Court, Court of Appeal and High Court.  The PDFs may be downloaded for printing purposes.  Updated daily.  (Use in library only.)

Note: Look for the link to the ViewCase Pdf at the top of each case. If the link is there, click on it to open a pdf of the judgement.   Ignore the text " Content for this document from the BriefCase database is not available under your current Brookers online login. Click here if you have a password for this database."

Available in our libraries (no charge). For assistance in using the database, please ask at Hastings Library.

Brookers Online Databases

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

Brookers Online databases give access to New Zealand legislation and case law including:

  • Building Cases and Law in NZ
  • Case Law - using Briefcase and Viewcase
  • Criminal cases, legislation & commentary
  • Environmental cases, legislation & commentary
  • NZ Law Partner Legislation & Cases
    • Bills of NZ
    • Statues of NZ
    • Regulations of NZ
    • Local & Private Statutes of NZ
    • Assent legislation
    • BriefCase & Viewcase
    • NZ Case Law Digest (archived)

(Note: Look for the link to ViewCase at the top of each case.  Click on the link to open a pdf of the judgement)

Access Notes:
Available in our libraries (no charge). For assistance in using the database, please ask at Hastings Library.

Business Insights: Global

Conditions:
Library card number required

Coming soon!  Business Insights: Global - includes case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals and topical reference materials organised by country, company and industry.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Full-text articles on women's issues, including social, environmental, educational and family concerns.

Compiles into a single collection often overlooked and hard-to-find newsletters and NGO research reports. Also find literature from leading research institutes and grass roots organisations.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

DISCovering Collection

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

A comprehensive database aimed at primary and high school students. Interesting browsing for adults too! Covers biographies, literature, history,  science and technology, world cultures.

Contains a multimedia gallery contains photos, maps, sound, video clips

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Findmypast

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

Research your family history online using Findmypast.

UPDATE! This now gives access to family history records for the UK as well as Australia, New Zealand,Ireland, the Pacific Islands, Papua New Guinea, also the United States and Canada.

No need to use a separate database for UK.

Available only in libraries, no charge. One concurrent user only. 

FundView

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

Looking for funding for your community organisation?  FundView is here to help!

This is an extensive database of New Zealand funders, updated frequently.

Also contains helpful advice on related topics, such as making applications.

Available in our libraries (no charge) only.

Global Issues in Context

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Search or browse by Regions (including Oceania, New Zealand) or Issues. Topics include business and economy, health and medicine, conflict and diplomacy, science and technology, environment and climate change, society and culture, government politics and law, women, children and the family.

Rich multimedia - including podcasts, videos, interactive graphs, maps.

Available in the libraries (no charge) or from home.

Health and Wellness Resource Centre

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Find up-to-date health information and research in full text magazines, journals, newspaper articles. 

Also includes the Alternative Medicine section.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home. Material contained in this Resource Centre is intended for informational purposes only. It should not be viewed as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

Index New Zealand

Looking for an article in a New Zealand newspaper or magazine?  Use Index New Zealand (INNZ) to search for articles on your chosen subject. 

Not full text - if article is not held locally, ask about Interloaning it from another library.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Literature Resource Centre

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

For students, teachers, readers of all ages, book clubs, in fact anyone who loves literature.

Use the Literature Resource Centre to find information on authors and their works.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Maori Land Court Minute Book Index Database

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

The Māori Land Court Minute Book Index database provides easy and quick access to over 1100 minute books between 1865 and 1910. Covers the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Maori Land Court Districts.

Available in our libraries only (no charge).

MasterFile Premier

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFile Premier provides full text articles dating as far back as 1975.

Covers virtually every subject area of general interest.

Click on EBSCOhost Web button, then select MasterFile Premier. Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

New Zealand Index

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

The Knowledge Basket's New Zealand Index is a searchable collection  of New Zealand related databases.  They can be searched individually or simultaneously and include 14 collections at present.  Includes NZ Card Index, NZ Herald Classified Personals since 2003.

Most do not have full text articles, just a short abstract.  The FAQ has information about where to obtain full text article or ask at your library.

 

Newztext

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

The Knowledge Basket's Newztext is a searchable archive of full text articles in many of New Zealand's key publications.

Includes many metropolitan and provincial newspapers, e.g. The Herald, The Dominion, National Business Review and Hawke's Bay Today (from 2008).  Also Radio NZ & Scoop newswires and many NZ magazines. 

NZETC - NZ Electronic Text Collection

NZETC is a large and ever growing resource comprising of digitised historical texts, manuscripts, born-digital contemporary texts.

Search the collection or browse by people, projects, works or subjects.

More at http://nzetc.victoria.ac.nz/tm/scholarly/tei-NZETC-About.html

Available in the libraries (no charge) or from home.  No login needed.

Oddizzi

Coming Soon!  Oddizzi Database for a younger audience. What is this all about?  All will be revealed!

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Search Opposing Viewpoints for information covering both sides of social issues.

Excellent if you are in a debate (formal or not) or for homework.  Not just for students though  - interesting for adults to browse. Easy to use too!

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Oxford Art Online

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

An excellent resource for anyone interested in art or studying art history.

Explore art and art forms, life and works of artists, styles, cultures, and time periods.

Thousands of images of art works available. 

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Oxford English Dictionary

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Here at your finger tips are 20 volumes of the OED - Oxford English Dictionary -relaunched to include new features.

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, it shows the fascinating history of how words and meanings have developed. OED forms a record of all the core words and meanings in English over more than 1000 years, from Old English to the present day, and including many obsolete and historical terms.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Oxford Music Online

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Music lovers - this is the database for you! 

Access to multiple music reference resources in one location. 

Covers all period and topics, from the study of music to the way it is performed. 

Subjects include composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres. 

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Press Display

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

Press Display is here!  Access to thousands of newspapers from around the world in full colour, full page format.

Read the latest editions of international, national and local newspapers.  Browse articles, pictures, notices, advertisements and classifieds.

International newspapers include The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age (Melbourne), The Washington Post, the Wall Street Journal, the big UK dailies, Le Figaro, le Monde and hundreds more...

Papers are available for 60 days from publication and are fully searchable. Has print, email, translation and audio options.

There is good coverage of New Zealand newspapers...

RDS Business and Industry

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

A broad-based business information database. Information about companies, industries, products and markets.  It covers all industries and is international in scope. Content from over 1,800 trade and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies and newsletters.

Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

RDS Business and Management Practices

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Business & Management Practices content focuses on practical approaches to management processes and methods. It provides real-world know-how about business planning, decision making, how businesses adopt and implement new technologies and techniques, and plan for change or expansion. Rreal-life applications, case studies, and explicit "how-to" guidelines. Accesses more than 300 current professional and trade journals, plus 1,000+  general business journals and newspapers .

Access Notes:
Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Science in Context

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

New! Science in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.

The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Access Notes:
Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Student Resources in Context

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

A comprehensive reference source for senior high school and tertiary students. 

Subjects covered include geography, culture, history, literature, people, science and health. 

Access Notes:
Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Virtual Reference Library

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a searchable database of encyclopedias and reference books.

These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

A wide range of topics covered...

Access Notes:
Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

WestLaw NZ

Library Access

Conditions:
Access from library only

WestLaw give access to New Zealand legislation and case law including:

  • Building Cases and Law in NZ
  • Case Law - using Briefcase and Viewcase
  • Criminal cases, legislation & commentary
  • Environmental cases, legislation & commentary
  • NZ Law Partner Legislation & Cases
    • Bills of NZ
    • Statues of NZ
    • Regulations of NZ
    • Local & Private Statutes of NZ
    • Assent legislation
    • BriefCase & Viewcase
    • NZ Case Law Digest (archived)

(Note: Look for the link to ViewCase at the top of each case.  Click on the link to open a pdf of the judgement)

Access Notes:
<p>Available in our libraries (no charge). For assistance in using the database, please ask at Hastings Library.</p>

World Book Web

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

Looking for something?  Find it on the World Book Web!

Includes thousands of encyclopedia articles, dictionary, atlas, photos, videos, animations, illustrations, maps, biographies, learning activities, "how to do research" guides, and much more.

The World Book Web - fast facts at your fingertips.

 

World History in Context

Library Access

Public Access

Conditions:
Library card number required

For history lovers of all ages, World History in Context covers world history from the earliest times to the present. 

Great also for homework questions.

Access Notes:
Available in our libraries (no charge) or from home.

Hastings District Council   Hastings, Heart of Hawke's Bay
 
Copyright © 2010 Hastings District Libraries
Private Bag 9002 Hastings 4156 New Zealand
Contact Us | Terms of Use | Accessibility information
Login